Natural gasOperatingAZPS

Saguaro

Natural gas power plant in Pinal County, Arizona. 184.5 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by Arizona Public Service Co.

Also known as Saguaro Power Plant · EIA plant 118

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

SerranoAvra Valley SolarPicture Rocks Solar, LLCNorth LoopSaguaro10 km
Open in the map
5 plants within 23 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
184.5 MWNameplate
Generators
3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
May 1972First generator online
Operator
Arizona Public Service CoEIA operator ID 803
Grid
AZPSBalancing authority AZPS
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Pinal County, AZ32.5517, −111.3000
EIA plant ID
118EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Saguaro produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

118 GWh

117,510 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

7.3%

2024: 8.3%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

15.7–175.6

GWh a year. Low 2016, high 2023

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000663,616Not reported12 of 12
2001881,824Not reported12 of 12
2002204,074Not reported12 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
200469,191Not reported12 of 12
200550,334Not reported12 of 12
200661,016Not reported12 of 12
2007116,339Not reported12 of 12
2008Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
200991,276Not reported12 of 12
20108,741Not reported12 of 12
20119,6660.3%12 of 12
201216,7450.4%12 of 12
20133,402Not reported4 of 12
201410,9720.7%12 of 12
201518,1441.1%12 of 12
201615,7481.0%12 of 12
201744,1832.7%12 of 12
2018109,3656.8%12 of 12
2019118,5937.3%12 of 12
2020107,8836.7%12 of 12
202184,7825.2%12 of 12
202283,3125.2%12 of 12
2023175,61210.9%12 of 12
2024135,2298.3%12 of 12
2025117,5107.3%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

CO₂, 2025

79,497

US short tons. 2024: 81,050

SO₂, 2025

0

US short tons

NOx, 2025

25

US short tons

CO₂ per MWh, calculated

0.68 t

About 1,353 lb per MWh

1 of 1 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1, 2, CT3), matched to EIA plant 118 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
GE1Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine78.3July 2002
GT1Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine53.1May 1972
GT2Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine53.1July 1973

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Arizona Public Service Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Saguaro and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Saguaro

More plants operated by Arizona Public Service Co

Questions about Saguaro

How much power does Saguaro produce?

Saguaro reported 117,510 MWh (118 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 7.3% capacity factor on 184.5 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Saguaro?

Saguaro is in Pinal County, Arizona, at 32.5517, −111.3000. It is in the Arizona Public Service Company balancing area (AZPS).

Who operates Saguaro?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Arizona Public Service Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 803). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Saguaro start operating?

Its first generator began operating in May 1972, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page