HydroOperatingNYISO

South Colton

Hydro power plant in St Lawrence County, New York. 21 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Erie Boulevard Hydropower LP.

Also known as South Colton Power Station · EIA plant 2611

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Five FallsHigleyRainbow Falls HydroColtonBlakeStarkSouth Colton5 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 12 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
21 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
January 1954First generator online
Operator
Erie Boulevard Hydropower LPEIA operator ID 5914
Grid
NYISOBalancing authority NYIS
Price nodes
1 NYISO nodeResource nodes with prices
Location
St Lawrence County, NY44.5133, −74.8831
EIA plant ID
2611EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power South Colton produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

67.8 GWh

67,795 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

36.9%

2024: 48.6%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

65.0–104.5

GWh a year. Low 2020, high 2019

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
200173,603Not reported12 of 12
200283,363Not reported12 of 12
200370,647Not reported12 of 12
20047,655Not reported12 of 12
20058,443Not reported12 of 12
2006105,765Not reported12 of 12
200780,968Not reported12 of 12
2008103,790Not reported12 of 12
200990,433Not reported12 of 12
201075,78941.2%12 of 12
201193,74751.0%12 of 12
201270,21238.1%12 of 12
201392,85050.5%12 of 12
201482,34044.8%12 of 12
201574,48340.5%12 of 12
201669,98537.9%12 of 12
2017104,18156.6%12 of 12
201883,35845.3%12 of 12
2019104,49156.8%12 of 12
202064,95435.2%12 of 12
202176,80441.8%12 of 12
202281,60544.4%12 of 12
202395,44651.9%12 of 12
202489,56548.6%12 of 12
202567,79536.9%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · NYISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric21.0January 1954

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Erie Boulevard Hydropower LP as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query South Colton and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near South Colton

More plants operated by Erie Boulevard Hydropower LP

Questions about South Colton

How much power does South Colton produce?

South Colton reported 67,795 MWh (67.8 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 36.9% capacity factor on 21 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is South Colton?

South Colton is in St Lawrence County, New York, at 44.5133, −74.8831. It is in the New York Independent System Operator balancing area (NYIS).

Who operates South Colton?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Erie Boulevard Hydropower LP as the operator (EIA operator ID 5914). The operator is not always the owner.

When did South Colton start operating?

Its first generator began operating in January 1954, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for South Colton?

Yes. InfraMap has NYISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 1 price node linked to South Colton, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • NYISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page