W S Lee
Natural gas power plant in Anderson County, South Carolina. 954.7 MW of nameplate capacity across 5 generators, operated by Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC.
Also known as W.S. Lee Power Plant · W.S. Lee · WS Lee · EIA plant 3264
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 954.7 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 5 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- January 2007First generator online
- Operator
- Duke Energy Carolinas, LLCEIA operator ID 5416
- Grid
- DUKBalancing authority DUK
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Anderson County, SC34.6022, −82.4350
- EIA plant ID
- 3264EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power W S Lee produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
5.99 TWh
5,985,959 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
71.6%
2024: 67.3%
January to July 2026
3.25 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2016 to 2025
0.1–6.0
TWh a year. Low 2017, high 2020
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 1,390,264 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 1,074,238 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 925,685 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 1,271,131 | Not reported | 9 of 12 |
| 2004 | 1,123,206 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 1,445,536 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 1,262,956 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 1,534,336 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 1,072,017 | Not reported | 10 of 12 |
| 2009 | 190,223 | Not reported | 6 of 12 |
| 2010 | 1,072,980 | 28.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 741,943 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 185,205 | 4.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 59,740 | 1.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 344,728 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2016 | 284,118 | 11.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 127,393 | 5.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 3,624,759 | Not reported | 9 of 12 |
| 2019 | 5,272,034 | 53.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 6,032,720 | 61.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 5,851,699 | 59.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 4,710,153 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 5,961,177 | 71.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 5,646,369 | 67.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 5,985,959 | 71.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 3,245,372 | 66.8% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
2.59M
US short tons. 2024: 2.44M
SO₂, 2025
13
US short tons
NOx, 2025
210
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.43 t
About 865 lb per MWh
4 of 4 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (1, 11, 12, 2, 3, 7C, 8C), matched to EIA plant 3264 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
Not reported
million gallons as reported; not used, see note
Consumption, 2024
Not reported
million gallons
Source
Saluda River
Surface, Fresh. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Very low/none · 0.131
USGS SUI, HUC12 Craven Creek-Saluda River
0 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the source river HUC12 within 3 km. Consumption is below 5% of a large reported withdrawal, so the withdrawal is not used. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 7 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 54.0 | January 2007 |
| 8 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 54.0 | January 2007 |
| CT11 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 242.3 | April 2018 |
| CT12 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 242.3 | April 2018 |
| ST10 | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 362.1 | April 2018 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query W S Lee and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near W S Lee
More plants operated by Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC
Questions about W S Lee
How much power does W S Lee produce?
W S Lee reported 5,985,959 MWh (5.99 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 71.6% capacity factor on 954.7 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 3.25 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is W S Lee?
W S Lee is in Anderson County, South Carolina, at 34.6022, −82.4350. It is in the Duke Energy Carolinas balancing area (DUK).
Who operates W S Lee?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC as the operator (EIA operator ID 5416). The operator is not always the owner.
When did W S Lee start operating?
Its first generator began operating in January 2007, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page