HydroOperatingTVA

Norris Dam

Hydro power plant in Anderson County, Tennessee. 131.4 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Tennessee Valley Authority.

Also known as Norris Dam Powerhouse · EIA plant 3411

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Chestnut Ridge Gas RecoveryUniversity of Tennessee Steam PlantMelton HillFort LoudounSR Maryville EastNorris Dam25 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 52 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
131.4 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
July 1936First generator online
Operator
Tennessee Valley AuthorityEIA operator ID 18642
Grid
TVABalancing authority TVA
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Anderson County, TN36.2242, −84.0914
EIA plant ID
3411EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Norris Dam produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

416 GWh

416,334 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

36.2%

2024: 33.5%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

294.8–765.8

GWh a year. Low 2023, high 2020

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000216,393Not reported12 of 12
2001283,362Not reported12 of 12
2002427,692Not reported12 of 12
2003589,390Not reported12 of 12
2004538,593Not reported12 of 12
2005434,882Not reported12 of 12
2006340,568Not reported12 of 12
2007301,576Not reported12 of 12
2008193,569Not reported12 of 12
2009527,460Not reported12 of 12
2010411,81935.8%12 of 12
2011575,42950.0%12 of 12
2012385,48233.4%12 of 12
2013577,95150.2%12 of 12
2014464,48840.4%12 of 12
2015517,50745.0%12 of 12
2016326,28928.3%12 of 12
2017382,95733.3%12 of 12
2018356,63331.0%12 of 12
2019419,40536.4%12 of 12
2020765,79066.3%12 of 12
2021448,98339.0%12 of 12
2022452,22039.3%12 of 12
2023294,84125.6%12 of 12
2024386,93733.5%12 of 12
2025416,33436.2%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric65.7September 1936
2Conventional Hydroelectric65.7July 1936

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Tennessee Valley Authority as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Norris Dam and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Norris Dam

More plants operated by Tennessee Valley Authority

Questions about Norris Dam

How much power does Norris Dam produce?

Norris Dam reported 416,334 MWh (416 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 36.2% capacity factor on 131.4 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Norris Dam?

Norris Dam is in Anderson County, Tennessee, at 36.2242, −84.0914. It is in the Tennessee Valley Authority balancing area (TVA).

Who operates Norris Dam?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Tennessee Valley Authority as the operator (EIA operator ID 18642). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Norris Dam start operating?

Its first generator began operating in July 1936, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page