HydroOperatingISO-NE

Fairfax Falls

Hydro power plant in Franklin County, Vermont. 3.5 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Green Mountain Power Corp.

Also known as EIA plant 3712

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

MiltonGeorgia Ballard BESSSaint Albans SolarFairfax Falls5 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 17 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
3.5 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
February 1919First generator online
Operator
Green Mountain Power CorpEIA operator ID 7601
Grid
ISO-NEBalancing authority ISNE
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Franklin County, VT44.6534, −72.9961
EIA plant ID
3712EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Fairfax Falls produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

16.1 GWh

16,108 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

52.5%

2024: 66.4%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

16.1–23.2

GWh a year. Low 2025, high 2023

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
20000Not reported12 of 12
200118,338Not reported12 of 12
200224,343Not reported12 of 12
200319,622Not reported12 of 12
200418,840Not reported12 of 12
200524,148Not reported12 of 12
200627,478Not reported12 of 12
200723,865Not reported12 of 12
200827,339Not reported12 of 12
200925,617Not reported12 of 12
201024,13378.7%12 of 12
201124,94081.3%12 of 12
201222,28672.5%12 of 12
201325,52883.3%12 of 12
201422,62373.8%12 of 12
201521,61370.5%12 of 12
201617,94958.4%12 of 12
201722,26172.6%12 of 12
201818,42660.1%12 of 12
201922,87274.6%12 of 12
202018,62860.6%12 of 12
202116,60354.2%12 of 12
202219,32963.0%12 of 12
202323,19775.7%12 of 12
202420,39966.4%12 of 12
202516,10852.5%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric1.4February 1919
2Conventional Hydroelectric2.1February 1919

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Green Mountain Power Corp as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Fairfax Falls and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Fairfax Falls

More plants operated by Green Mountain Power Corp

Questions about Fairfax Falls

How much power does Fairfax Falls produce?

Fairfax Falls reported 16,108 MWh (16.1 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 52.5% capacity factor on 3.5 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Fairfax Falls?

Fairfax Falls is in Franklin County, Vermont, at 44.6534, −72.9961. It is in the ISO New England Inc. balancing area (ISNE).

Who operates Fairfax Falls?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Green Mountain Power Corp as the operator (EIA operator ID 7601). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Fairfax Falls start operating?

Its first generator began operating in February 1919, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page