HydroOperatingPJM

Buck Hydro

Hydro power plant in Carroll County, Virginia. 8.4 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by Appalachian Power Co.

Also known as EIA plant 3772

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Fries Hydroelectric ProjectWythe County SolarRiver Trail Solar, LLCCaden Energix Wytheville LLCBuck Hydro10 km
Open in the map
5 plants within 20 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
8.4 MWNameplate
Generators
3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
January 1912First generator online
Operator
Appalachian Power CoEIA operator ID 733
Grid
PJMBalancing authority PJM
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Carroll County, VA36.8082, −80.9387
EIA plant ID
3772EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Buck Hydro produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

19.6 GWh

19,575 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

26.6%

2024: 34.6%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

19.6–54.4

GWh a year. Low 2025, high 2020

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
200028,680Not reported12 of 12
200127,772Not reported12 of 12
200230,027Not reported12 of 12
200348,746Not reported12 of 12
200445,853Not reported12 of 12
200544,503Not reported12 of 12
200637,602Not reported12 of 12
200729,790Not reported12 of 12
200826,419Not reported12 of 12
200940,311Not reported12 of 12
201015,95121.7%12 of 12
201137,08650.4%12 of 12
201237,56650.9%12 of 12
201314,72820.0%12 of 12
20143,647Not reported12 of 12
201537,45050.9%12 of 12
201636,97950.1%12 of 12
201736,72649.9%12 of 12
201837,37650.8%12 of 12
201933,03744.9%12 of 12
202054,42973.8%12 of 12
202138,79252.7%12 of 12
202237,07850.4%12 of 12
202338,46152.3%12 of 12
202425,55334.6%12 of 12
202519,57526.6%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric2.8January 1912
2Conventional Hydroelectric2.8January 1912
3Conventional Hydroelectric2.8January 1912

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Appalachian Power Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Buck Hydro and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Buck Hydro

More plants operated by Appalachian Power Co

Questions about Buck Hydro

How much power does Buck Hydro produce?

Buck Hydro reported 19,575 MWh (19.6 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 26.6% capacity factor on 8.4 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Buck Hydro?

Buck Hydro is in Carroll County, Virginia, at 36.8082, −80.9387. It is in the PJM Interconnection, LLC balancing area (PJM).

Who operates Buck Hydro?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Appalachian Power Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 733). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Buck Hydro start operating?

Its first generator began operating in January 1912, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page