HydroOperatingLDWP

Big Pine Creek

Hydro power plant in Inyo County, California. 3.2 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Los Angeles Department of Water & Power.

Also known as Big Pine Power Plant · EIA plant 391

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Bishop Creek 4Bishop Creek 3Bishop Creek 6Bishop Creek 2Pleasant Valley HydroBig Pine Creek10 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 35 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
3.2 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
July 1925First generator online
Operator
Los Angeles Department of Water & PowerEIA operator ID 11208
Grid
LDWPBalancing authority LDWP
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Inyo County, CA37.1428, −118.3241
EIA plant ID
391EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Big Pine Creek produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

10.5 GWh

10,464 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

37.3%

2024: 41.0%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

0.2–13.0

GWh a year. Low 2019, high 2017

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
200012,003Not reported12 of 12
200112,368Not reported12 of 12
200210,381Not reported12 of 12
200311,470Not reported12 of 12
200411,914Not reported12 of 12
200511,970Not reported12 of 12
200614,864Not reported12 of 12
200710,820Not reported12 of 12
200810,846Not reported12 of 12
200914,738Not reported12 of 12
20108,52230.4%12 of 12
20118,47230.2%12 of 12
20125,09518.1%12 of 12
20133,24111.6%12 of 12
20149,52634.0%12 of 12
20159,55334.1%12 of 12
20161,4845.3%12 of 12
201712,95946.2%12 of 12
201812,88346.0%12 of 12
20191600.6%12 of 12
20209,22832.8%12 of 12
20219,41733.6%12 of 12
202211,49541.0%12 of 12
20238,98032.0%12 of 12
202411,52341.0%12 of 12
202510,46437.3%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Conventional Hydroelectric3.2July 1925

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Los Angeles Department of Water & Power as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Big Pine Creek and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Big Pine Creek

More plants operated by Los Angeles Department of Water & Power

Questions about Big Pine Creek

How much power does Big Pine Creek produce?

Big Pine Creek reported 10,464 MWh (10.5 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 37.3% capacity factor on 3.2 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Big Pine Creek?

Big Pine Creek is in Inyo County, California, at 37.1428, −118.3241. It is in the Los Angeles Department of Water and Power balancing area (LDWP).

Who operates Big Pine Creek?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Los Angeles Department of Water & Power as the operator (EIA operator ID 11208). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Big Pine Creek start operating?

Its first generator began operating in July 1925, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page