SolarBattery storageOperatingCAISO

RE Garland

Solar and battery storage project in Kern County, California. 273.1 MW of nameplate capacity across 3 generators, operated by Southern Power Co.

Also known as EIA plant 60233

This project groups RE Garland (EIA 60233). EIA reports them as separate plants.

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

RE Garland ARE Gaskell West 2 LLCRE Gaskell West 4 LLCRE Garland2 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 4.0 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
273.1 MWSolar 185.1 · Battery storage 88.0
Generators
3 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
November 2016First generator online
Operator
Southern Power CoEIA operator ID 17650
Grid
CAISOBalancing authority CISO
Price nodes
3 CAISO nodesResource nodes with prices
Location
Kern County, CA34.8253, −118.5250
EIA plant ID
60233EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power RE Garland produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

510 GWh

509,680 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

32.2%

2024: 30.5%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2017 to 2025

383.7–547.4

GWh a year. Low 2023, high 2017

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2006Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2007Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2008Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2009Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2010Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2011Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2012Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2013Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2014Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2015Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
201654,91517.3%2 of 12
2017547,39233.8%12 of 12
2018526,33532.5%12 of 12
2019475,440Not reported12 of 12
2020488,10030.0%12 of 12
2021174,647Not reported5 of 12
2022432,90427.6%12 of 12
2023383,70024.2%12 of 12
2024483,47530.5%12 of 12
2025509,68032.2%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account · CAISO

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
BESS1Batteries45.0August 2021
BESS2Batteries43.0December 2021
PV2Solar Photovoltaic185.1November 2016

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Southern Power Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Modeled curtailment

A range, not one number. The lower bound counts hours inside the production tax credit window; the upper bound is the no-credit case.

Modeled

Expected vs reported generation

Monthly modeled expected output and physical potential next to EIA-923 reported output.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query RE Garland and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near RE Garland

More plants operated by Southern Power Co

Questions about RE Garland

How much power does RE Garland produce?

RE Garland reported 509,680 MWh (510 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 32.2% capacity factor on 273.1 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is RE Garland?

RE Garland is in Kern County, California, at 34.8253, −118.5250. It is in the California Independent System Operator balancing area (CISO).

Who operates RE Garland?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Southern Power Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 17650). The operator is not always the owner.

Is RE Garland a solar or a battery storage plant?

Both. Solar capacity totals 185.1 MW and battery storage capacity totals 88 MW.

When did RE Garland start operating?

Its first generator began operating in November 2016, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for RE Garland?

Yes. InfraMap has CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices at 3 price nodes linked to RE Garland, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • CAISO day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page