Coronado
Coal power plant in Apache County, Arizona. 821.8 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Salt River Project.
Also known as Coronado Generation Station · EIA plant 6177
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 821.8 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- December 1979First generator online
- Operator
- Salt River ProjectEIA operator ID 16572
- Grid
- SRPBalancing authority SRP
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Apache County, AZ34.5789, −109.2708
- EIA plant ID
- 6177EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Coronado produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
2.93 TWh
2,933,440 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
40.7%
2024: 37.0%
January to July 2026
1.21 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
2.1–4.9
TWh a year. Low 2019, high 2015
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 6,276,187 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 5,858,073 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 5,063,164 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 5,786,578 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 5,797,381 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 6,070,915 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 5,888,365 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 5,813,324 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 2,161,197 | Not reported | 4 of 12 |
| 2009 | 5,575,038 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 6,244,275 | 86.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 5,455,646 | 75.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 5,590,723 | 77.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 5,782,498 | 80.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 5,419,903 | 75.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 4,935,387 | 68.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 4,924,949 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 3,899,903 | 54.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 3,597,872 | 50.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 2,074,935 | 28.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 2,595,924 | 36.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 3,402,198 | 47.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 2,973,802 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 3,082,129 | 42.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 2,672,825 | 37.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 2,933,440 | 40.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 1,206,206 | 28.8% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
3.71M
US short tons. 2024: 3.57M
SO₂, 2025
97
US short tons
NOx, 2025
1,075
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
1.26 t
About 2,530 lb per MWh
2 of 2 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (U1B, U2B), matched to EIA plant 6177 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
1,464
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
1,464
million gallons
Source
Wells
Ground, Fresh. Induced-draft tower
Watershed stress
Very low/none · 0.182
USGS SUI, HUC12 Valle Bonito-Carrizo Wash
24 of 24 cooling months report withdrawal. Groundwater user; SUI describes surface water and is context only. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| CO1 | Conventional Steam Coal | 410.9 | December 1979 |
| CO2 | Conventional Steam Coal | 410.9 | October 1980 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Salt River Project as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Coronado and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Coronado
More plants operated by Salt River Project
Questions about Coronado
How much power does Coronado produce?
Coronado reported 2,933,440 MWh (2.93 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 40.7% capacity factor on 821.8 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 1.21 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is Coronado?
Coronado is in Apache County, Arizona, at 34.5789, −109.2708. It is in the Salt River Project balancing area (SRP).
Who operates Coronado?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Salt River Project as the operator (EIA operator ID 16572). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Coronado start operating?
Its first generator began operating in December 1979, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page