Battery storageOperatingERCOT

Zapata

Battery storage project in Zapata County, Texas. 19.8 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Engie North America.

Also known as EIA plant 64322

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

Reloj del Sol Wind FarmLopenoLas Lomas Wind ProjectRio Bravo Windpower, LLCSenderoFalcon Dam & PowerZapata25 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 42 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
19.8 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
March 2022First generator online
Operator
Engie North AmericaEIA operator ID 56201
Grid
ERCOTBalancing authority ERCO
Price nodes
2 ERCOT nodesResource nodes with prices
Location
Zapata County, TX26.9327, −99.2337
EIA plant ID
64322EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Zapata produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

−1.16 GWh

−1,162 MWh, final

Battery discharge, 2025

9.89 GWh

Charge 11.1 GWh

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2023 to 2025

−1.5–−1.2

GWh a year. Low 2023, high 2025

Annual net generation, GWh
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2001Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2002Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2003Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2004Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2005Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2006Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2007Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2008Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2009Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2010Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2011Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2012Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2013Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2014Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2015Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2016Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2017Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2018Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2019Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2020Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2021Not reportedNot reported0 of 12
2022−914Not reported10 of 12
2023−1,520Not reported12 of 12
2024−1,245Not reported12 of 12
2025−1,162Not reported12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Battery plants can report negative net generation, when charging uses more energy than they discharge.

Power prices and basis

Free account · ERCOT

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
ZPT1Batteries9.9March 2022
ZPT2Batteries9.9March 2022

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Engie North America as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Zapata and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Zapata

More plants operated by Engie North America

Questions about Zapata

How much power does Zapata produce?

Zapata reported −1,162 MWh (−1.16 GWh) of net generation in 2025.

Where is Zapata?

Zapata is in Zapata County, Texas, at 26.9327, −99.2337. It is in the Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc. balancing area (ERCO).

Who operates Zapata?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Engie North America as the operator (EIA operator ID 56201). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Zapata start operating?

Its first generator began operating in March 2022, according to EIA-860M.

Does InfraMap have power prices for Zapata?

Yes. InfraMap has ERCOT day-ahead and real-time prices at 2 price nodes linked to Zapata, with the hub price and node-to-hub basis. Prices are free with an InfraMap account; pricing node names are part of InfraMap Pro.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • ERCOT day-ahead and real-time prices; node and hub assignments as of 2026-10-05

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page