Gwitchyaa Zhee
Oil power plant in Yukon Koyukuk, Alaska. 2.8 MW of nameplate capacity across 4 generators, operated by Gwitchyaa Zhee Utility Co.
Also known as EIA plant 7174
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 2.8 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 4 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- October 2015First generator online
- Operator
- Gwitchyaa Zhee Utility CoEIA operator ID 7833
- Grid
- Not reported
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Yukon Koyukuk, AK66.5663, −145.2531
- EIA plant ID
- 7174EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Gwitchyaa Zhee produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
3.22 GWh
3,219 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
13.1%
2024: Not reported
January to July 2026
Not reported
Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported
Range, 2015 to 2025
2.1–3.2
GWh a year. Low 2019, high 2025
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 0 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 260 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 0 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 0 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 0 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 0 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 0 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 2,923 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 2,556 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 2,311 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 2,698 | 18.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 3,038 | 20.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 2,764 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 2,658 | 14.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 2,279 | 12.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 2,439 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 2,554 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 2,600 | 8.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 2,398 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 2,091 | 8.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 2,334 | 9.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 2,546 | 10.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 3,129 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 2,463 | 10.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2025 | 3,219 | 13.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDNo EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 7 | Petroleum Liquids | 1.0 | October 2015 |
| 8 | Petroleum Liquids | 1.0 | August 2016 |
| 9 | Petroleum Liquids | 0.4 | December 2016 |
| 11 | Petroleum Liquids | 0.4 | January 2022 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Gwitchyaa Zhee Utility Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Gwitchyaa Zhee and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Gwitchyaa Zhee
Questions about Gwitchyaa Zhee
How much power does Gwitchyaa Zhee produce?
Gwitchyaa Zhee reported 3,219 MWh (3.22 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 13.1% capacity factor on 2.8 MW of nameplate capacity.
Where is Gwitchyaa Zhee?
Gwitchyaa Zhee is in Yukon Koyukuk, Alaska, at 66.5663, −145.2531.
Who operates Gwitchyaa Zhee?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Gwitchyaa Zhee Utility Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 7833). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Gwitchyaa Zhee start operating?
Its first generator began operating in October 2015, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page