HydroOperatingPACE

Stairs

Hydro power plant in Salt Lake County, Utah. 1 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by PacifiCorp.

Also known as Stairs Station Hydroelectric Power Plant · EIA plant 3659

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

GraniteLittle CottonwoodSnowbird Power PlantMurray TurbineSwire Coca-Cola DraperHTW Plant 303 COGENStairs10 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 17 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
1 MWNameplate
Generators
1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
July 1912First generator online
Operator
PacifiCorpEIA operator ID 14354
Grid
PACEBalancing authority PACE
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Salt Lake County, UT40.6236, −111.7533
EIA plant ID
3659EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Stairs produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

4.15 GWh

4,149 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

47.4%

2024: 36.9%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

3.2–5.8

GWh a year. Low 2024, high 2019

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
20005,299Not reported12 of 12
20014,081Not reported12 of 12
20024,902Not reported12 of 12
20033,951Not reported12 of 12
20045,146Not reported12 of 12
20054,877Not reported12 of 12
20066,869Not reported12 of 12
20074,139Not reported12 of 12
20085,921Not reported12 of 12
20096,477Not reported12 of 12
20105,58763.8%12 of 12
20117,35684.0%12 of 12
20124,80354.7%12 of 12
20133,90944.6%12 of 12
20144,64853.1%12 of 12
20153,89744.5%12 of 12
20164,54451.7%12 of 12
20175,64364.4%12 of 12
20183,76743.0%12 of 12
20195,77165.9%12 of 12
20204,59152.3%12 of 12
20213,32638.0%12 of 12
20223,42439.1%12 of 12
20234,18847.8%12 of 12
20243,24236.9%12 of 12
20254,14947.4%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

No EPA emissions units are linked to this plant.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024. Plants without steam cooling, such as wind, solar and batteries, do not report cooling water.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
3Conventional Hydroelectric1.0July 1912

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists PacifiCorp as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Stairs and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Stairs

More plants operated by PacifiCorp

Questions about Stairs

How much power does Stairs produce?

Stairs reported 4,149 MWh (4.15 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 47.4% capacity factor on 1 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Stairs?

Stairs is in Salt Lake County, Utah, at 40.6236, −111.7533. It is in the PacifiCorp - East balancing area (PACE).

Who operates Stairs?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists PacifiCorp as the operator (EIA operator ID 14354). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Stairs start operating?

Its first generator began operating in July 1912, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page