Natural gasOperatingSOCO

Washington County Cogeneration Facility

Natural gas power plant in Washington County, Alabama. 122.5 MW of nameplate capacity across 2 generators, operated by Alabama Power Co.

Also known as EIA plant 7697

Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.

McIntosh (AL)Lowman Energy CenterBarryWalker Springs IIWalker Springs IWashington County Cog…20 km
Open in the map
6 plants within 34 km, from EIA coordinates.

Key facts

Capacity
122.5 MWNameplate
Generators
2 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
Operating since
February 1999First generator online
Operator
Alabama Power CoEIA operator ID 195
Grid
SOCOBalancing authority SOCO
Price nodes
None linkedNo verified ISO node
Location
Washington County, AL31.2642, −88.0027
EIA plant ID
7697EIA plant page

Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.

How much power Washington County Cogeneration Facility produces

Free · EIA-923

Net generation, 2025

811 GWh

810,526 MWh, final

Capacity factor, 2025

75.5%

2024: 76.8%

January to July 2026

Not reported

Provisional. 0 of 7 months reported

Range, 2015 to 2025

718.6–862.2

GWh a year. Low 2016, high 2023

Annual net generation, GWhCapacity factor below each year
Annual net generation from EIA-923
YearNet generation, MWhCapacity factorMonths reported
2000648,495Not reported12 of 12
2001815,609Not reported12 of 12
2002852,951Not reported12 of 12
2003837,541Not reported12 of 12
2004713,978Not reported12 of 12
2005779,836Not reported12 of 12
2006845,779Not reported12 of 12
2007838,415Not reported12 of 12
2008834,551Not reported12 of 12
2009813,627Not reported12 of 12
2010852,46079.4%12 of 12
2011828,69377.2%12 of 12
2012734,45468.3%12 of 12
2013827,04377.1%12 of 12
2014828,88577.2%12 of 12
2015833,57477.7%12 of 12
2016718,60666.8%12 of 12
2017828,51277.2%12 of 12
2018809,93475.5%12 of 12
2019823,93176.8%12 of 12
2020710,37372.1%11 of 12
2021849,61079.2%12 of 12
2022846,72178.9%12 of 12
2023862,16480.3%12 of 12
2024825,86476.8%12 of 12
2025810,52675.5%12 of 12
2026 (provisional, partial year)Not reportedNot reported0 of 7

* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.

Power prices and basis

Free account

No verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.

Emissions

Free · EPA CAMPD

CO₂, 2025

462,639

US short tons. 2024: 469,152

SO₂, 2025

2

US short tons

NOx, 2025

144

US short tons

CO₂ per MWh, calculated

0.57 t

About 1,142 lb per MWh

1 of 1 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (CC1), matched to EIA plant 7697 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.

Water use

Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGS

No EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.

Generators

Free · EIA-860M
GeneratorTechnologyNameplate MWOnline since
1Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle82.6February 1999
2Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle39.9February 1999

Ownership and offtake

Pro
Pro

Ownership and offtake are part of Pro

Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Alabama Power Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.

Modeled data

Pro

Pro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.

Modeled

Generation potential vs reported

Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.

Analyst and MCP

300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP

Query Washington County Cogeneration Facility and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.

Power plants near Washington County Cogeneration Facility

More plants operated by Alabama Power Co

Questions about Washington County Cogeneration Facility

How much power does Washington County Cogeneration Facility produce?

Washington County Cogeneration Facility reported 810,526 MWh (811 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 75.5% capacity factor on 122.5 MW of nameplate capacity.

Where is Washington County Cogeneration Facility?

Washington County Cogeneration Facility is in Washington County, Alabama, at 31.2642, −88.0027. It is in the Southern Company Services, Inc. - Trans balancing area (SOCO).

Who operates Washington County Cogeneration Facility?

EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Alabama Power Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 195). The operator is not always the owner.

When did Washington County Cogeneration Facility start operating?

Its first generator began operating in February 1999, according to EIA-860M.

Sources

  • EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
  • EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
  • EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025

Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page