H B Robinson
Nuclear power plant in Darlington County, South Carolina. 768.6 MW of nameplate capacity across 1 generator, operated by Duke Energy Progress - (NC).
Also known as H. B. Robinson Nuclear Generating Station · H.B. Robinson · HB Robinson · EIA plant 3251
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 768.6 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 1 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- March 1971First generator online
- Operator
- Duke Energy Progress - (NC)EIA operator ID 3046
- Grid
- CPLEBalancing authority CPLE
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Darlington County, SC34.4017, −80.1589
- EIA plant ID
- 3251EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power H B Robinson produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
6.72 TWh
6,721,389 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
99.8%
2024: 91.6%
January to July 2026
3.85 TWh
Provisional
Range, 2015 to 2025
5.3–6.7
TWh a year. Low 2018, high 2025
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 7,259,625 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2001 | 6,432,070 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2002 | 6,629,038 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2003 | 7,468,963 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2004 | 7,081,528 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 6,955,748 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 7,654,875 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 6,914,774 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 6,445,976 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 7,405,733 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 4,602,898 | 53.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 6,932,566 | 79.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 5,602,383 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2014 | 5,597,462 | 83.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 5,723,722 | 85.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2016 | 6,432,188 | 95.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 5,925,833 | 88.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 5,276,118 | 78.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 6,376,319 | 94.7% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 6,124,626 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 6,426,473 | 95.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 5,690,025 | 84.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 6,694,374 | 99.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2024 | 6,185,306 | 91.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 6,721,389 | 99.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 3,854,076 | 98.6% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2012
245,562
US short tons. 2011: 593,803
SO₂, 2012
2,236
US short tons
NOx, 2012
692
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.04 t
About 88 lb per MWh
1 of 1 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2012 (1), matched to EIA plant 3251 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSWithdrawal, 2024
252,107
million gallons
Consumption, 2024
0
million gallons
Source
Lake Robinson
Surface, Fresh. Recirculating with cooling pond
Watershed stress
Very low/none · 0.173
USGS SUI, HUC12 Lake Robinson-Black Creek
12 of 12 cooling months report withdrawal. SUI of the HUC12 containing the plant. Cooling-pond plants report water circulated through the pond as withdrawal, so withdrawal is far above consumption. Blank volumes are unreported, not zero.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2 | Nuclear | 768.6 | March 1971 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Duke Energy Progress - (NC) as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query H B Robinson and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near H B Robinson
More plants operated by Duke Energy Progress - (NC)
Questions about H B Robinson
How much power does H B Robinson produce?
H B Robinson reported 6,721,389 MWh (6.72 TWh) of net generation in 2025, a 99.8% capacity factor on 768.6 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 3.85 TWh, which is provisional.
Where is H B Robinson?
H B Robinson is in Darlington County, South Carolina, at 34.4017, −80.1589. It is in the Duke Energy Progress East balancing area (CPLE).
Who operates H B Robinson?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Duke Energy Progress - (NC) as the operator (EIA operator ID 3046). The operator is not always the owner.
When did H B Robinson start operating?
Its first generator began operating in March 1971, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
- EIA-923 cooling water 2024 and the USGS surface water supply and use index, Water years 2010-2020 (Oct 2009 to Sep 2020), mean of monthly values
- Plant names from OpenStreetMap, © OpenStreetMap contributors (ODbL)
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page