Calhoun Energy Center
Natural gas power plant in Calhoun County, Alabama. 748 MW of nameplate capacity across 4 generators, operated by Alabama Power Co.
Also known as EIA plant 55409
Analyst: free account, 1 question a day.
Key facts
- Capacity
- 748 MWNameplate
- Generators
- 4 operatingEIA-860M, August 2026
- Operating since
- January 2003First generator online
- Operator
- Alabama Power CoEIA operator ID 195
- Grid
- SOCOBalancing authority SOCO
- Price nodes
- None linkedNo verified ISO node
- Location
- Calhoun County, AL33.5883, −85.9731
- EIA plant ID
- 55409EIA plant page
Data as of EIA-860M August 2026 (published 2026-09-24). Capacity is nameplate, not live output.
How much power Calhoun produces
Free · EIA-923Net generation, 2025
87.6 GWh
87,605 MWh, final
Capacity factor, 2025
1.3%
2024: 4.8%
January to July 2026
262 GWh
Provisional
Range, 2016 to 2025
39.2–494.6
GWh a year. Low 2020, high 2022
| Year | Net generation, MWh | Capacity factor | Months reported |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2000 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2001 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2002 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 of 12 |
| 2003 | 93,103 | Not reported | 7 of 12 |
| 2004 | 90,667 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2005 | 232,271 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2006 | 333,982 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2007 | 455,631 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2008 | 234,549 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2009 | 107,123 | Not reported | 12 of 12 |
| 2010 | 274,176 | 4.2% | 12 of 12 |
| 2011 | 221,332 | 3.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2012 | 190,102 | 2.9% | 12 of 12 |
| 2013 | 5,945 | 0.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2014 | 28,639 | 0.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2015 | 4,194 | 0.4% | 2 of 12 |
| 2016 | 195,125 | 3.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2017 | 160,103 | 2.4% | 12 of 12 |
| 2018 | 196,584 | 3.0% | 12 of 12 |
| 2019 | 334,922 | 5.1% | 12 of 12 |
| 2020 | 39,211 | 0.6% | 12 of 12 |
| 2021 | 49,866 | 0.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2022 | 494,556 | 7.5% | 12 of 12 |
| 2023 | 25,537 | Not reported | 11 of 12 |
| 2024 | 314,093 | 4.8% | 12 of 12 |
| 2025 | 87,605 | 1.3% | 12 of 12 |
| 2026 (provisional, partial year) | 261,741 | 6.9% | 7 of 7 |
* 2026 covers January to July and is provisional. Capacity factor is net generation divided by nameplate capacity times the hours of each reported month.
Power prices and basis
Free accountNo verified ISO price node is linked to this plant, or its price history could not load.
Emissions
Free · EPA CAMPDCO₂, 2025
77,474
US short tons. 2024: 204,928
SO₂, 2025
0
US short tons
NOx, 2025
27
US short tons
CO₂ per MWh, calculated
0.88 t
About 1,769 lb per MWh
4 of 4 EPA units reported CO₂ in 2025 (CT1, CT2, CT3, CT4), matched to EIA plant 55409 through the EPA–EIA crosswalk. The per-MWh rate is EPA CO₂ divided by EIA-923 net generation. The two reporting boundaries can differ.
Water use
Free · EIA-923 cooling, USGSNo EIA cooling-water record for this plant in 2024.
Generators
Free · EIA-860M| Generator | Technology | Nameplate MW | Online since |
|---|---|---|---|
| CAL1 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 187.0 | January 2003 |
| CAL2 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 187.0 | February 2003 |
| CAL3 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 187.0 | March 2003 |
| CAL4 | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 187.0 | April 2003 |
Ownership and offtake
ProOwnership and offtake are part of Pro
Owners and their shares, parent companies, and power purchase agreements with their buyers. EIA-860M lists Alabama Power Co as the operator, which is not always the owner.
Modeled data
ProPro adds modeled values for this plant. Everything above stays free.
Generation potential vs reported
Monthly potential at seasonal net capability, next to EIA-923 output. Shows how much of the plant's capability was used.
300 analyst questions a month, plus MCP
Query Calhoun Energy Center and 14,224 other projects from Claude or your own tools. Free accounts get 1 question a day.
Power plants near Calhoun
More plants operated by Alabama Power Co
Questions about Calhoun
How much power does Calhoun Energy Center produce?
Calhoun Energy Center reported 87,605 MWh (87.6 GWh) of net generation in 2025, a 1.3% capacity factor on 748 MW of nameplate capacity. From January to July 2026 it reported 262 GWh, which is provisional.
Where is Calhoun Energy Center?
Calhoun Energy Center is in Calhoun County, Alabama, at 33.5883, −85.9731. It is in the Southern Company Services, Inc. - Trans balancing area (SOCO).
Who operates Calhoun Energy Center?
EIA-860M for August 2026 lists Alabama Power Co as the operator (EIA operator ID 195). The operator is not always the owner.
When did Calhoun Energy Center start operating?
Its first generator began operating in January 2003, according to EIA-860M.
Sources
- EIA-860 2025 (final) and EIA-860M August 2026: plant, generators, capacity, operator and location
- EIA-923 monthly net generation, 2000 to July 2026 (2026 provisional)
- EPA CAMPD annual emissions through the EPA–EIA crosswalk, 1995 to 2025
Page updated 2026-10-04 from the InfraMap data build. Methodology · Data sources · EIA plant page